School Bus Laws in PA

Kids will be starting back to school before we know it.  One topic that keeps coming up, again and again, is driving laws in regard to school buses. This is a good time to refresh your knowledge of driving laws with school buses.

According to PennDot, an average 1.5 million children are transported via school bus on Pennsylvania roads every year and according to the National Association of Pupil Transportation passing drivers cause 2/3 of school bus loading and unloading fatalities.  With these statistics, a few minutes to review school bus safety laws could save a life. 

School bus stopping laws for drivers in Pennsylvania. 

When you come upon a stopped school bus with red signal lights flashing and stop arm extended you must stop.

When you approach an intersection where a school bus is stopped with red signal lights flashing and stop arm extended, you must stop.  This is from either direction of the intersection. 

Did you know you must stop at least ten (10) feet away from the school bus? 

You need to wait until the red lights have stopped flashing and the stop arm has been withdrawn before moving. 

DO NOT MOVE until all the children have reached a place of safety. 

If you break the law penalties can include a $250 fine, 60 days driver's license suspension, 5 points on your license.   

Things To Consider

Even if you wait until all the children reach an area of safety remember that young children have a tendency to walk back out onto the road or retrieve a dropped object.  Drive slowly and carefully.

Distracted driving is another cause of accidents. Combined distracted driving around a school bus or school zone and is a recipe for disaster.